Who has won the most World Snooker Championship titles?

RONNIE O’SULLIVAN is in the hunt to become the greatest snooker player of all time – but he has to keep his run going.

The Rocket, 46, has been in fine form at the World Snooker Championships in Sheffield this past fortnight and has the chance to become one of the all-time greats.



Stephen Hendry is the King of the Crucible thanks to his stunning SEVEN World Snooker Championship victoriesCredit: PA:Press Association
Ronnie O'Sullivan celebrates with the World Championship trophy in 2013


Ronnie O’Sullivan celebrates with the World Championship trophy in 2013Credit: PA:Press Association

The record for the most victories at the Crucible is currently held by icon Stephen Hendry.

But O’Sullivan is already part of an elite group of winners who will be considered greats of the game for generations.

Who has the most World Snooker Championship titles?

Stephen Hendry is currently the most decorated snooker player of all time.

The Scot has won at the Crucible a stunning SEVEN times.

Hendry has also been runner-up twice.

Rocket in furious ref blast as he takes big lead, then Trump closes gap
Watch Ronnie O'Sullivan fume at Crucible ref after warning over 'gesture'

Most World Snooker Championships ranked

  • Stephen Hendry (Scotland) – 7 titles
  • Steve Davies (England), Ronnie O’Sullivan (England), Ray Reardon (Wales) – 6 titles
  • John Higgins (Scotland), Mark Selby (England) – 4 titles
  • Mark Williams (Wales), John Spencer (England) – 3 titles
  • Alex Higgins (Northern Ireland) – 2 titles
  • Shaun Murphy (England), Cliff Thorburn (Canada), Peter Ebdon (England), Graeme Dott (Scotland), Ken Doherty (Ireland), Dennis Taylor (Northern Ireland), Judd Trump (England), John Parrott (England), Terry Griffiths (Wales), Joe Johnson (England) – 1 title

Who has reached the most finals without winning?

That unfortunate gong belongs to the iconic Jimmy White.

The Londoner made it to the final an incredible SIX times without a single outright victory.

In 1994 he agonisingly lost a final frame decider to Hendry, who is of course codenamed the King of the Crucible.

Players who have reached the World Snooker Championship final without winning

  • Jimmy White (England) – 6 finals
  • Eddie Charlton (Australia), Matthew Stevens (Wales), Ali Carter (England) – 2 finals
  • Barry Hawkins (England), Ding Junhui (China), Kyren Wilson (England), Nigel Bond (England), Perrie Mans (South Africa), John Pulman (England), Gary Owen (Wales), Doug Mountjoy (Wales), Graham Miles (England), Warren Simpson (Australia) – 1 final

Source link

Denial of responsibility! galaxyconcerns is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.