TOI Poll Results: The lesser known players who impressed the fans in IPL 2022 | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: The Indian Premier League is largely about unearthing new, raw talent, giving young players ample opportunities to rub shoulders with international stars, to give them the feel of playing at the highest level, before they are exposed to the cut-throat competition at the international level.
IPL 2022 was no different with emerging players and talented youngsters basking the spotlight and making fans sit up and notice their potential. ran a poll asking fans which lesser known cricketer they were most impressed with in the different departments:
The first question was: Which lesser known top order batsman impressed you the most in IPL 2022?
The options were: Abhishek Sharma (SRH), Dewald Brevis (MI), Yashasvi Jaiswal (RR) and someone else.
Sunrisers Hyderabad’s left-handed opener Abhishek Sharma, who scored 426 runs at a strike rate of 133.12 with two half-centuries in the tournament, got the maximum votes – 1375.
Yashasvi Jaiswal (954 votes) and Dewald Brevis (872 votes) finished second and third respectively. The someone else option got 512 votes.

The second question was: Which lesser known middle order (Number 4 and below) batsman was the most impactful in IPL 2022?
The options were: Tilak Varma (MI), Rinku Singh (KKR), Rajat Patidar (RCB), Jitesh Sharma (PBKS), Tim David (MI) and Riyan Parag (RR).
Rajat Patidar, who was only drafted into the side midway through the tournament as an injury replacement and whose swashbuckling unbeaten 112 off 54 in the Eliminator against Lucknow Super Giants took his team Royal Challengers Bangalore to Qualifier 2, was the standout winner here with 1411 votes.
Patidar was followed by Mumbai Indians’ Tilak Varma who got 1134 votes. Tim David (481 votes), Rinku Singh (407 votes), Jitesh Sharma (207 votes) and Riyan Parag (78 votes), followed.

The third question was: Which lesser known spinner impressed you the most in IPL 2022?
The options were: Maheesh Theekshana (CSK), Jagadeesha Suchith (SRH), Kumar Kartikeya Singh (MI), R Sai Kishore (GT), Harpreet Brar (PBKS) and Someone else.
Sri Lankan Maheesh Theekshana got the maximum number of votes – 1349, followed by R Sai Kishore (1182 votes), the someone else option got the third most number of votes (427 votes), with Harpreet Brar (380 votes), Kumar Kartikeya Singh (204) and Jagadeesha Suchith (164 votes) following.

The fourth and the last question was: Which of the following lesser known fast bowlers had the biggest impact this season?
The options were: Umran Malik (SRH), Mohsin Khan (LSG), Yash Dayal (GT), Mukesh Choudhary (CSK), Arshdeep Singh (PBKS), Kuldeep Sen (RR).
No prizes for guessing that tearaway fast bowler Umran Malik, who clocked more than 150 kmph consistently throughout the tournament, was the runaway winner here. It wasn’t just his tearaway speed though. With 22 wickets, Umran also finished fourth on the list of the highest wicket-takers in the tournament. Umran, who earned a Team India call-up for the forthcoming South Africa series, got 2059 votes.
Umran was followed by Mohsin Khan (1025 votes), Arshdeep Singh (314 votes), Mukesh Choudhary (190 votes), Yash Dayal (93 votes), and Kuldeep Sen (33 votes) respectively.

Source link

Denial of responsibility! galaxyconcerns is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.