Newcastle Knights winger Dom Young puts down his claim for Dally M try of the year

Dylan Edwards (fullback), Brian To’o (winger), Stephen Crichton (centre), Izack Tago (centre), Nathan Cleary (halfback), James Fisher-Harris (prop), Liam Martin (second row) and Isaah Yeo (lock) are all in the mix to be named among the NRL’s best 13 players in their respective positions.

In a further nod to the club’s dominance, Ivan Cleary has been nominated for coach of the year.

Here are all the nominees for the NRL’s Dally M awards on Wednesday.

Kalyn Ponga led Newcastle’s surge into the finals.Credit: NRL Imagery

Fullback of the year

Nominees: James Tedesco (Roosters), Dylan Edwards (Panthers), Kalyn Ponga (Knights)

Even without Reece Walsh, who was ruled ineligible after copping a three-match contrary conduct suspension, this is perhaps the most hotly contested position. Tedesco has been much maligned this season, to the point there were calls from Blues fans for his head during the State of Origin series, but he has still made the cut.

Winger of the year contender Ronaldo Mulitalo.

Winger of the year contender Ronaldo Mulitalo.Credit: Getty

Winger of the year (two winners)

Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (Warriors), Jamayne Isaako (Dolphins), Brian To’o (Panthers), Dominic Young (Knights), Selwyn Cobbo (Broncos), Ronaldo Mulitalo (Sharks)

Good luck trying to select just two from this group. Young scored the most tries, Watene-Zelezniak cemented his status as a cult hero and all the other contenders have strong claims.

Campbell Graham.

Campbell Graham.Credit: Getty

Centre of the year (two winners)

Stephen Crichton (Panthers), Bradman Best (Knights), Kotoni Staggs (Broncos), Campbell Graham (Rabbitohs), Herbie Farnworth (Broncos), Izack Tago (Panthers)

Best took his game to a new level after his call-up for State of Origin III. It will be the last chance for Crichton to earn the gong before shifting to a new club and position in 2024.

Cameron Munster at Accor Stadium on Friday.

Cameron Munster at Accor Stadium on Friday.Credit: Getty

Five-eighth of the year

Ezra Mam (Broncos), Cameron Munster (Storm), Cody Walker (Rabbitohs)

Walker’s form dipped at the pointy end of the season, while Munster and Mam were crucial in steering their sides into the play-offs.

Shaun Johnson’s remarkable season came to an end on Saturday night.

Shaun Johnson’s remarkable season came to an end on Saturday night.Credit: NRL Imagery

Halfback of the year

Nathan Cleary (Panthers), Daly Cherry-Evans (Sea Eagles), Shaun Johnson (Warriors)

This trio had outstanding campaigns. Johnson has turned back the clock, while Australia coach Mal Meninga will struggle to split Cherry-Evans and Cleary for the No.7 jersey.

Apisai Koroisau has been a rare bright spot for the Tigers this season.

Apisai Koroisau has been a rare bright spot for the Tigers this season.Credit: Getty Images

Hooker of the year

Wayde Egan (Warriors), Apisai Koroisau (Wests Tigers), Harry Grant (Storm)

Koroisau was one of the few shining lights during a dismal Tigers campaign, while Egan has been an unsung hero at the resurgent Warriors.

No prop has won the Dally M Medal. Will Broncos star Payne Haas change that?

No prop has won the Dally M Medal. Will Broncos star Payne Haas change that?Credit: Getty

Prop of the year (two winners)

Lindsay Collins (Roosters), Payne Haas (Broncos), James Fisher-Harris (Panthers), Nelson Asofa-Solomona (Storm), Jake Trbojevic (Sea Eagles), Addin Fonua-Blake (Warriors)

No prop has won the Dally M player of the year award. Could Haas be the first? The Broncos front-rower is also a standout contender in this stacked category.

Hudson Young puts his body on the line for Canberra.

Hudson Young puts his body on the line for Canberra.Credit: Getty

Second row of the year (two winners)

Liam Martin (Panthers), Briton Nikora (Sharks), Tyson Frizell (Knights), Haumole Olakauatu (Sea Eagles), David Fifita (Titans), Hudson Young (Raiders)

Fifita was back to his best after not quite living up to his pay cheque in previous seasons. Judges will also find it hard to go past Penrith hardman Martin.

Pat Carrigan.

Pat Carrigan.Credit: Getty

Lock of the year

Tohu Harris (Warriors), Isaah Yeo (Panthers), Patrick Carrigan (Broncos)

There’s no bad choice out of this trio. Each of them provide not only outstanding performances but also leadership for their teams.

Warriors coach Andrew Webster.

Warriors coach Andrew Webster.Credit: Getty

Coach of the year

Kevin Walters (Broncos), Andrew Webster (Warriors), Ivan Cleary (Panthers)

Cleary has just one Dally M coach of the year award to show for the Panthers’ four-year domination. That’s an oversight that needs addressing, although Walters and Webster are the good news stories of the year.


Captain of the year

Adam Reynolds (Broncos), Tohu Harris (Warriors)

Those in the Warriors’ inner sanctum say the team wouldn’t have survived its COVID ordeal if not for the leadership of Harris. Veteran halfback Reynolds would also be a popular pick.

Watch the NRL grand final exclusive, live and free on Channel 9 and 9Now.

Source link

Denial of responsibility! galaxyconcerns is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.