Eurovision reveals hosts Graham Norton, Alesha Dixon, Hannah Waddingham and Julia Sanina for this year’s contest in Liverpool | Ents & Arts News


The hosts of this year’s Eurovision Song Contest, which takes place in Liverpool, have been revealed – with TV and music stars presenting alongside representatives for Ukraine.

Ted Lasso actress Hannah Waddingham, Ukrainian singer Julia Sanina, and TV star and singer Alesha Dixon will host the grand final on 13 May alongside veteran presenter Graham Norton, and Timur Miroshnychenko will be the Ukrainian commentator.

Waddingham, Sanina and Dixon will also present the two Eurovision semi-finals.

Hannah Waddingham arrives at the 74th Primetime Emmy Awards on Monday, Sept. 12, 2022, at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles. (AP Photo/Jae C. Hong)
Ted Lasso star Hannah Waddingham and reality judge and singer Alesha Dixon (below) are on the hosting team. Pic: Jae C Hong
Britain's Got Talent judge Alesha Dixon. Pic: ITV/ Syco/ Thames
Pic: ITV/ Syco/ Thames

The UK’s act for the contest is yet to be revealed.

Dixon, who rose to fame in the early 2000s as a member of the girl group Mis-Teeq, before going on to appear as a judge on Strictly Come Dancing and then Britain’s Got Talent, said she was excited to be a big part of the event this year.

“I’ve performed all over the world and there is just something about the buzz and anticipation of a live show that can’t be rivalled,” she said. “I remember watching the Eurovision Song Contest on the TV when I was small, so to be there bringing the grand final and semi-finals to people watching across the world is huge.”

The last time the UK hosted the event was in 1998, when the ceremony was presented by Terry Wogan and Ulrika Jonsson.

While Ukraine’s Kalush Orchestra were crowned Eurovision winners in 2022, meaning the country would usually be preparing to host the event this year, organisers the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) ruled it would be unsafe due to Russia’s war.

As the UK’s Sam Ryder came in second place, the contest is being held here, with Liverpool winning the bid.

Graham Norton pictured at the BAFTA Film Awards in London in February 2020. Pic: Vianney Le Caer/Invision/AP
Graham Norton has been a Eurovision commentator for several years. Pic: Vianney Le Caer/Invision/AP

British actress Waddingham, who is known for her Emmy-winning performance in the hit comedy Ted Lasso, as well as for roles in Game Of Thrones and Sex Education, said hosting the event on behalf of Ukraine makes this year’s event even more special.

“There’s something really special about Eurovision, which is why I’ve been an avid fan for years – from the camaraderie of all the acts backstage, to the epic scale of the show,” she said.

“It’s one of the world’s greatest music festivals, but this year, perhaps more than ever, it is such a great honour to be standing shoulder to shoulder with Ukraine, a country which has carried itself with such strength and unity.”

Julia Sanina from The Hardkiss. Pic: Aleksandr Gusev/Pacific Press via ZUMA Wire/Shutterstock
Julia Sanina. Pic: Aleksandr Gusev/Pacific Press via ZUMA Wire/Shutterstock

Sanina, who fronts Ukrainian alternative rock band The Hardkiss, was a Dancing With The Stars finalist and judge on X-Factor in the country. “I’m so excited to showcase Ukrainian culture and creativity, and to help put on a show to make my country proud,” she said. “I can’t wait to get to Liverpool and meet the fans and the rest of the Eurovision family.”

Norton, who has been a Eurovision commentator for the UK for several years, said he feels a “big responsibility to make our Ukrainian colleagues proud”.

Read more:
Everything you need to know about Eurovision 2023
Ukraine picks Eurovision entry after bunker competition

A total of 37 countries are set to take part in Eurovision this year, with Ukraine automatically qualifying as 2022 winners, along with the so-called “big five” – the UK, France, Germany, Italy and Spain – because of their financial contributions to the event.

Ireland, Serbia, Latvia, Norway, Portugal, Croatia, Malta, Sweden, Moldova, Switzerland, Israel, the Netherlands, Finland, Azerbaijan and the Czech Republic will perform in the first semi-final on 9 May, while Armenia, Cyprus, Romania, Denmark, Belgium, Iceland, Greece, Estonia, Albania, Australia, Austria, Lithuania, San Marino, Slovenia, Georgia and Poland go head-to-head in the second semi-final on 11 May.

The Eurovision Song Contest takes place at Liverpool Arena, also called M&S Bank Arena, on 13 May.


Source link

Denial of responsibility! galaxyconcerns is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.